The Utah Beer Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

This is the place to explore all aspects of Utah's Craft Brewing scene.

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

New member moving from LAX to SGU. Need advice.

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
jmbrowning

New member moving from LAX to SGU. Need advice. Empty
PostSubject: New member moving from LAX to SGU. Need advice.   New member moving from LAX to SGU. Need advice. Icon_minitimeWed Oct 26, 2011 4:07 am

Hi! I'm moving from Los Angeles County to Washington County in the next eight to ten months or so.

I've been homebrewing since 1998, initially as a potential survival skill for the BIg Y2K scare, then for cheap suds (when I couldn't afford it), and even later on to make things I couldn't readily find (strawberry melomels, etc).

Ever since the kids came along though, the brew equipment went into the storage unit. Those little rugrats are now driving a move out of "Missionland" to a more wholesome environment in St George. While the state package store has a decent selection of spirits and wines, my true love is still beer and I suspect I will have to brew my own if I want decent cheap beer.

I've got a few questions regarding my move:
  1. what laws do I need to be aware of regarding home brewing at either a state or municipal/county level? Are they any different than Federal regs?
  2. What is the 72 oz rule regarding kegs? Is it something to do with the amount of alcohol per person at an event? I am currently setup to bottle, but if I am going to brew for year round use, I may go ahead with kegging.
  3. Are there any tariffs or regs regarding gifting homebrews to other Utahns?
  4. I know that bringing alcohol from out of state is rumrunning, but are there any special rules regarding transporting homebrewed alcohol to my campsite/cabin/boat/etc for legal consumption?
  5. Where can I get homebrew supplies in the Dixie area?