The Utah Beer Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

This is the place to explore all aspects of Utah's Craft Brewing scene.

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

Flanders Red

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
kent

kent

Flanders Red Empty
PostSubject: Flanders Red   Flanders Red Icon_minitimeFri Apr 02, 2010 11:12 am

I'm a devout reader of http://www.themadfermentationist.com/ and I've been thinking about doing a sour beer for a while now. I'd like to hear about people's experience in brewing them.

In particular I'd like to do a Flanders Red. So if anyone has recipes or tips I'd appreciate it.
Back to top Go down
Dallas

Dallas

Flanders Red Empty
PostSubject: Re: Flanders Red   Flanders Red Icon_minitimeMon Feb 28, 2011 12:25 am

Hey Kent did you ever get around to that Flanders Red? I have been talking about brewing one myself for the last 6 months, and could use any pointers if you have them. Currently I am building up different
Brettanomyces strains to ferment beers.
Dallas
Back to top Go down
kent

kent

Flanders Red Empty
PostSubject: Re: Flanders Red   Flanders Red Icon_minitimeSun Mar 13, 2011 3:45 pm

I'm sorry Dallas I just saw this post.

I've got a recipe from the Wild Brews book that I've been working my way through. I plan to do this as soon as work slows down a bit. I think I'm going to go with the Wyeast Rosalare (sp?) blend. Then maybe throw in some dregs from a 529. That's where I'm at on it.
Back to top Go down
microbusbrewery

microbusbrewery

Flanders Red Empty
PostSubject: Re: Flanders Red   Flanders Red Icon_minitimeThu Dec 29, 2011 6:36 pm

I know this is an old post, but after many visits to the blog, I just barely discovered the forum today Very Happy

Just wondering if you ever got around to brewing your Flanders Red? I brewed my first attempt at this style about eight or so weeks ago, so it still has a long ways to go.